Interesting night creature.. Worm Maybe?

Fish & Invertebrate sightings and descriptions, hosted by resident NWDC ID expert Janna Nichols (nwscubamom).
Roko
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Interesting night creature.. Worm Maybe?

Post by Roko »

Howdy! I've been trying to figure out what this creature is, and got a recommendation to try this forum to find some ID experts..

My Girlfriend and I did a night dive on Jan 2, at Whytecliff park in BC. Near the end of the dive, we were cutting across the bay (we heard that's where the seals hang out.. not that night though), and in the shallows (less than 15tf) we came across some strange critters swimming around, and quite a few of them. They were maybe 3-4 inches (hard to say for sure, maybe more maybe less) long, and swam in a really neat way through the water...

I happened to be video taping while maneuvering around to take a photo of this sculpin, and at the very end of the video, you can see it clearly swimming by:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMI24tU2f5g

And a photo...

Another photo, but bigger.. not necessarily clearer:
http://www.dive.roko.ca/mystery2.JPG

Does anyone have any ideas? My girlfriend's best guess corroborates some other ideas on Scubaboards, that it's some sort of Polychaete, but we'd like to get a definitive answer, as we're not sure.

Another hypothesis of what it might be that my girlfriend's come up with is a quillfish larvae, based off the description in Lamb and Hanby's Marine Life of the PNW... But we're definatley amateurs and very new to the field of sea critter identification...
nwscubamom
I've Got Gills

Re: Interesting night creature.. Worm Maybe?

Post by nwscubamom »

What a cool find and thanks for posting here!

I've sent off your request to several folks, and hope to hear from them soon. We're lucky to have a worm expert, Leslie, from the LA County Natural History Museum to help ID these mystery critters (and yours is likely a worm).

- Janna :)
Janna Nichols