Gear for a newbie??

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
Acquatic
Avid Diver

Gear for a newbie??

Post by Acquatic »

Hi all,

I think I am jumping the gun on the gear when I havent yet done my certification but I was wondering from where did you buy your first gear from?

Boy the whole set is expensive :(. So far my best bet is, used and from craigslist.

What do you suggest?

Thanks in advance.
pogiguy05
I've Got Gills

Re: Gear for a newbie??

Post by pogiguy05 »

Well first Merry Christmas to you and your family.

I am sure you will get ALOT of opinions on gear here. I have been diving for almost 3 years and if you one who needs to watch your budget, then yes keep an eye on craigslist as I have scored some gear from there. Just be careful and it would be best to ask other opinions before you lay your money down. I got lucky and found a dry suit for $450 that I am still wearing today and have only had to replace seals twice. All your gear is important but I would focus on buying good first and second stage regulators. I would suggest getting a drysuit and also taking a class to help you learn about diving it. What kind of gear do you have or do you have any? You will get alot of great useful information from people on this board. Also once you do get certified alot of the people here would gladly go diving with you and let you try some of the extra gear they have gotten over the years. If no one has warned you Scuba Diving is addictive and expensive habit. :penelope:

I remember being a newbie and I would gladly help you out with some slow easy diving when you get your certifications. :stir:
Jeff Castor
Acquatic
Avid Diver

Post by Acquatic »

pogiguy05 wrote:Well first Merry Christmas to you and your family.