Dive light...recommended watts for diving in the puget soup

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
babs13
Dive-aholic

Dive light...recommended watts for diving in the puget soup

Post by babs13 »

I'm looking to get a canister light. Will probably go with HID. Thinking of going with a 10W light saber. Is this a sufficent amount of watts for these parts? What is minimum recommended for night diving or generally diving in these parts? Hope to keep light for a while. Trying to be cost efficient as well. Thanks!

:smt064
Step 1: I have a diving problem.
Burntchef
I've Got Gills

Re: Dive light...recommended watts for diving in the puget soup

Post by Burntchef »

yes a 10 watt is fine for the waters here, 21 is better and above that is too much unless you are going tech depths or in lake wa. i have been using my 10watt hid for a few years now and never had a issue with it being not enough light. i would love to get a 21 for the lake and for tech dives but a shearwater is in my future!!!

you should be able to land a 10 watt hid for around 350 used or 500 new. or you can go to the led salvo 12 watt and never worry about breaking a bulb, i saw one at nwsd and was pretty impressed. very small battery pack wich works better for some.
Chin high, puffed chest, we step right to it
The choice is there ain't no choice but to pursue it

"Diving the gas is the easy part, not much to it, plenty of retards are using it safely. " jamieZ
Diver_C
Amphibian

Post by Diver_C »

I would advise the following:
definitely obtain an HID light (don't think LED is quite there yet to truly compete with HID, but not trying to start a flame session on this thread either, these are just my opinions);
yes, 10 watts is sufficient, but 21, 24, or 35 watts are much better; and
get as much light and quality as you can afford.