gopro cameras?

General banter about diving and why we love it.
kraigs
Just Settling In

gopro cameras?

Post by kraigs »

Hey, anyone have any experience with the gopro cameras? I want to be able to shoot video while diving, without breaking the bank. I am going to borrow one from a friend to try out before I shell out any money. I appreciate any feedback.
Magoi
Dive-aholic

Re: gopro cameras?

Post by Magoi »

Check out this link - video from Muk with a GoPro

http://www.nwdiveclub.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=17152
Confidence is the feeling you have before you understand the situation.
Ranbal
Just Settling In

Post by Ranbal »

I've been using a GoPro Hero for about 6 months now. It works great. You do however need a housing with a flat port to fix the underwater focus issue. There are numerous housings on the market these days. Just google it for tons of info.
You will never get the exceptional quality video that you would with pro gear but you will be able to nicely record your dives in HD that you will have fun sharing with family and friends (read: No NatGeo contract anytime soon).
One problem I had was the lighting issue. Yes, you still need good lighting below twenty feet around here. My dive lights are too focus beamed for video and blew out all the color. I have since moved to a "video" light and it has made all the difference in video quality.
I went with bigblue vl1300 and love it. Add to that a tray, handle, arms and you can see how the little inexpensive GoPro just got pretty expensive. Oh well. It's really about the fun factor and I have plenty of it.
Hope this helps.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
Scubie Doo
I've Got Gills

gopro cameras?

Post by Scubie Doo »

I mounted mine to my camera housing and really like the results. Also used it for surfing and my kids used it for air soft and long boarding. It is a great camera for the price. Here is a video I shot with it in Fiji last month.

http://vimeo.com/user7985858/videos
Beefcake
Aquaphile