100 Foot Rock - Saturday, March 31st

Organize buddy teams, plan shore and boat dives, organize charters... make it happen here!
John Rawlings
I've Got Gills

100 Foot Rock - Saturday, March 31st

Post by John Rawlings »

I dived one of my old favorite dive sites today with Nailer and Calvin. I was diving my KISS CCR, Nailer used his twin LP 95s, while Calvin dived with a single LP 95. Nailer had a (ahem) "fun" time walking down to the dive site with his doubles...let me TELL ya!

I just checked my log book and the last time I was there was in September of 2005.....I've been diving this site for over 2 decades and little has changed there over that time....until recently.

WHAT A HUGE CHANGE!!!!!

There used to be a large, wide trough extending from the edge of the drop-off down to the rock itself. That trough was always full of bark, shells and other debris. The walls of that trough were always full of little critters and rockfish. I didn't even recognize it today! Instead of one long trough there are multiple small ones extending down toward the rock, almost like fissures or cracks. All of them were also almost perfectly clean as a baby's bottom.....no bark....no shells....and virtually No critters to speak of.....it was like they were NEW.

The bottom around the rock has also changed, making it look almost as if the rock itself has been moved or slightly tilted. There was a LOT of silt on the rock that has not normally been there....I even saw a patch of sand on top of it. The rock has always been literally covered with brown/orange Zoanthids, so thick that it was almost like a covering of human hair.....no more! There are only patches of Zoanthids surviving on the rock and most of its surface seems to be bare.