Is Redondo a Safe Site for Fish Research?

General banter about diving and why we love it.
Chevayea
Compulsive Diver

Is Redondo a Safe Site for Fish Research?

Post by Chevayea »

Hey, i received this question on my website and thought i would bring it to the group of you to get some input for him. Here's his question:
Hello, I am a graduate student (and fellow diver) at the University of Washington conducting scientific research on the movement of steelhead, salmon, sharks and other fishes in Puget Sound using transmitters implanted in the fish. We are considering placing a sensor (that detects fish with the transmitters) due west of the breakwater on the bottom. I know this is a popular dive site and I wanted to get your opinion if I labeled the sensor with "fish research", would divers leave the equipment alone? We are planning on running a ground line from the end of the breakwater 100 ft due west to an anchor with float that we attach the sensor to. We have permission of the Des Moines Harbormaster to attach to the breakwater, but I'm concerned about someone interfering or taking the sensor. Your feedback and any suggestions on safeguarding the equipment would be appreciated. Thank you.
CaptnJack
I've Got Gills

Re: Is Redondo a Safe Site for Fish Research?

Post by CaptnJack »

Redondo is not safe for very much... For my work we deploy rather expensive water quality instruments sometimes. We always hid them over relying on people to not screw with it based on a sign or note. The notes are our last resort "moral" deterent.

Thus, I would...