Diving in or around Marinas

General banter about diving and why we love it.
Samson

Diving in or around Marinas

Post by Samson »

Excuse me if this is a really dumb question. As I am new to diving and the NW I dont fully know the rules yet. However, back home in Idaho, one of our fun things we used to do was go diving around the boat docks in the local lakes and reservoirs. Obviously, we were cautious of boat traffic and such. It was our little "treasure" dives we called it. It was a hoot to go and find the things that boaters had dropped in over the years. We used to find sunglasses, watches, chairs, etc. Once, my buddy even pulled out a 25 hp evinrude outboard! Took it home and flushed the cylinders, changed the plugs and it fired right up! I was just curious if anyone did any diving around the local marinas? Is this even allowed?? Seems like a good place to go "treasure hunting"

Samson-
defied
I've Got Gills

Re: Diving in or around Marinas

Post by defied »

It's been a few years since I've last done it, but generally, common courtesy dictates asking the office if it would be allright to help remove trash from their marina's, find a dock to dive off of that does not have any running vessels (be careful of Sea Chests!!!), and make sure you set up a flag from your start point. Don't go messing around under peoples boats either. 0]

Have fun. I used to do it in some of the marinas in San Diego back in the day! I came out of it with a wallet filled with 100 rotten dollars, and a pair of those $300.00 Oakley POS glasses. I wore them around the base until I sat on them (As I do with all my other $8.00 pairs I buy). 0]
dwashbur
I've Got Gills

Post by dwashbur »

Hey Samson,
Where were you in Idaho? Our home base is in Boise at the moment.
Dave

"Clearly, you weren't listening to what I'm about to say."
--
Check out my Internet show:
http://www.irvingszoo.com
Samson

Post by Samson »