what have you learned this year?

General banter about diving and why we love it.
bigsky
Dive-aholic

what have you learned this year?

Post by bigsky »

what lessons did davy jones teach you this year?

i learned he does not want me on the admiral sampson,
i also learned to keep my reel with me, a secure location on the
upline does not mean actually mean a good location.
i know the difference between right and wrong
wrong is usually the fun one
LCF
I've Got Gills

Re: what have you learned this year?

Post by LCF »

I learned that the boat works better with the plug in it.

I learned that, if you run line from open water, it doesn't matter if you end up in the wrong place in the cave, because you can get back out.

I learned I had been doing the frog kick "wrong" for two years (thanks, Richard . . .) and that you can get a whole lot more power out of it than I had been doing.

And I think, with help from a friend, that I have figured out that it's rapid head movements that trigger my midwater disorientation. That's a big deal for me!
"Sometimes, when your world is going sideways, the second best thing to everything working out right, is knowing you are loved..." ljjames
Dusty2
I've Got Gills

Post by Dusty2 »

I learned to not get complacent or to rush to get into the water. No mater how much experience you have it's still easy to forget something critical and Davey is always lurking, waiting to teach you he is still the one in control. I have had a number of small incidents, each of which experience has allowed me to calmly work thru but all of which could have been much worse. Each time I review them in my head and see where I did something wrong and bless those who taught me that I could remain calm and think through it.

I guess you could say that the one lesson I constantly bring away is that this is not my natural environment and I am only safe here so long as I am constantly vigilant and aware of the dangers that our sport involves.