Hello Seattle!

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
Newty
Just Settling In

Hello Seattle!

Post by Newty »

Hi Everyone, I'm Kailee and I'm new to Seattle (live near Green Lake) but been diving a few times already (around 20, actually). I started diving on vacations with my boyfriend, and when we planned to move to Seattle one of the things we wanted to do was learn to dive in cold waters (all my past dives have been off of sandy beaches!). Well, a year later I'm boy-less but still want to learn to dive here! (we broke up and he didn't end up moving here with me)

One of the things I want to learn about is dry suits. I get cold even in the tropical weather and sometimes wet suits didn't fit me well around the wrists and ankles (I'm 5'7" 128lbs). do you have to get dry suits sized by a custom shop?

I love diving! I love movies about sea animals and can't wait to see some of them here. I heard that you can dive with seals near Seattle. Seals are soooo cute!

So, will anyone please help me get atuned to the chilly water here? I think I need to start out in a pool or something, since my last dive was over a year ago (is that the rule?)... lol! I am aprehnsive about the cold but otherwise very excited to learn!!! :luv:
Tangfish
NWDC Mascot
NWDC Mascot

Re: Hello Seattle!

Post by Tangfish »

Welcome to Seattle, Newty. Don't worry about the cold. You'll get used to it!

The best thing to do is to meet up with some local divers. There's a Club Dive on October 10th, which will be a great opportunity to meet people, check out gear configurations and to make new friends in the area. Hope to see you around. :clap:
Newty
Just Settling In

Post by Newty »

Thanks for the invitation "tang fish".

I do have some questions about equipment. I have a regulator setup that I bought overseas (on vacation). It's a Mares set up. I haven't used it in about a year and a half. Do I need a tune up? Does it need to be adjusted for diving here?